Soulful Classics Revealed on Track Listing for ‘Everlasting’


Martina McBride had a specific vision for ‘Everlasting’ (out March 4), a collection of iconic soul and R&B songs, and knew Grammy-winning producer Don Was had just the experience and insight to lead her on this journey. The legendary producer guided McBride through songs as diverse as Aretha Franklin’s “Do Right Woman, Do Right Man,” Elvis Presley’s “Suspicious Minds” and Van Morrison’s “Wild Night,” and yielded a new sound and a departure for the country icon and four-time CMA Female Vocalist of the Year.

“I love soulful music and it just made sense to me to stretch a bit at this time and do something that fills my heart and allows me to explore a little bit,” said Martina on her upcoming album. “I have worked hard to choose some of the best and most loved classics, much like I did with ‘Timeless,’ and interpret them in a way that is faithful to the original, but still has my own artistic spin to make it mine.”

“Working with Don was a dream come true,” continued Martina. “He is so musical and really helped me focus on how to do these songs in a way that not only features the vocal, but also connects this music with what I’ve done in the past in a really honest and organic way. Putting out new music is one of the most exciting things we can do as performers, and I can’t wait to take this music on tour.”

‘Everlasting’ will be released on McBride’s own Vinyl Records through Kobalt label services.

Track Listing

1. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man/ Original Artist: Aretha Franklin

2. If You Don’t Know Me By Now/ Original Artist: Harold Melvin & The Blue Notes

3. Suspicious Minds/ Original Artist: Elvis Presley

4. Little Bit Of Rain/ Original Artist: Fred Neil

5. Bring It On Home To Me (duet with Gavin DeGraw)/ Original Artist: Sam Cooke

6. Come See About Me/ Original Artist: The Supremes

7. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted/ Original Artist: Jimmy Ruffin

8. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long/ Original Artist: Otis Redding

9. Wild Night/ Original Artist: Van Morrison

10. In The Basement (duet with Kelly Clarkson)/ Original Artist: Etta James and Sugar  Pie DeSanto

11. My Babe/ Original Artist: Little Walter 12. To Know Him Is To Love Him/ Original Artist: The Teddy Bears