The  OMNI HOTEL in NASHVILLE played host to the COUNTRY RADIO HALL OF FAME induction celebration for the Class of 2015 (NET NEWS 2/25). Former WUSY/CHATTANOOGA GM SAMMY GEORGE, longtime programmer and consultant JOEL RAAB, current KBEQ/KANSAS CITY PD/morning personality MIKE KENNEDY, KAJA/SAN ANTONIO morning man RANDY CARROLL, and WMIL/MILWAUKEE personality KAREN DALESSANDRO were honored as the newest members of the HALL OF FAME, while JEFF WALKER and DWIGHT YOAKAM were honored with the CRS PRESIDENT’S AWARD and ARTIST CAREER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD, respectively (NET NEWS 6/2).

After opening remarks from COUNTRY RADIO BROADCASTERS VP and COUNTRY RADIO HALL OF FAME Chairman R.J. CURTIS, WALKER and YOAKAM were each presented with their awards. WALKER, who has served on the CRB Board for 35 consecutive years, was humble and gracious, thanking each of the Presidents he has served under during his tenure and noting the support and commitment from his family, friends, co-workers. YOAKAM spoke with gratitude about his relationship with radio throughout his career, noting that despite his love of non-terrestrial radio, he always finds himself tuning in to the live and local stations for the personality that only terrestrial radio can deliver. He also noted a special thanks to the radio and records relationship for allowing him to make his music on his terms and expressed a hope that Country would continue to be a format of diversity and progress.